top of page

Eat the Hummingbird #6 by Darren Demaree


Darren Demaree is the author of "As We Refer To Our Bodies" (2013, 8th House), "Temporary Champions" (2014, Main Street Rag), "The Pony Governor" (2015, After the Pause Press), and "Not For Art Nor Prayer" (2015, 8th House). I am the Managing Editor of the Best of the Net Anthology.

EAT THE HUMMINGBIRD #6

The birds don’t have thumbs,

but the parts of them I see

as they fly by so freely, are all pointed

away from me. Even those tagged

by the seasons are all plumped

to build amongst the wild wilds

& I am not even on the other side

of the window, where they are dipping

themselves in almost everything

& flying away from damn near

the whole of the world

that they just plundered.

Artworks used for homepage graphics include:

 

"It is My English Not Me" and "Where" by Marton Koppany

Oil Paintings by Bassam Al Hajali

 

 

bottom of page